(Attention, please!) The fat face syndrome!

Ange Dim
3 min readDec 15, 2020

--

When you realise your diet is producing fat face syndrome!

A few weeks ago, my colleagues and I had some professional photos snapped in our local office.

When we received them today, I went around to everyone asking if they were pleased with the results.

One colleague of mine, who I’m very close to, and we have many laughs together, told me how fat he looked in the photo. I couldn’t help but laugh with him. He began to compare his older image, with the new one. “can you please photoshop out some of the fat on my face.” he went on to say. After a few jokes, he proclaimed he’s keeping the old image for now. (I hope he doesn’t kill me when he reads this lol)

Have you ever been faced with a situation like this? I know I have!

I think I have mentioned to you all how disgusted I was in a photo my partner took of myself and my daughter on kids ride. I can’t even remember what it was. I think It involved horses spinning around. Anyway, that was a pivotal moment for me. I wasn’t able to accept any excuses anymore. I was not making an effort in anything apart from complaining and hiding how awful I looked and felt.

See, my friend could have used that as a pain point to pursue fat loss. That means, changing your diet, your exercise plan and getting into a steady routine with it all. No one said it was easy, but we all have to put in the work to achieve success with our weight loss goals.

My pathway is never easy. I am always the last one to lose weight, and it’s usually a tiny amount anyway. I know that I have to stick with it, tweak a few things, and dedicate myself to doing some physical activity every single day. It also means I have to eat well too. That’s not easy, especially during this time of year.

I wanted to share some tips with you during the season when everyone is booking you in for fancy lunches, boozy dinners and nights out on the town.

Ange’s top 4 tips for keeping it together during the silly season.

  1. Have a snack beforehand. I always snack on a high protein source, like eggs before going anywhere. That helps keep my appetite in check and stop me from eating more than I should. For some reason, events like Christmas party lunches happen at 3 pm when everyone wants to eat the contents of the table!
  2. Keep your drinking in check. I don’t know about you, but I don’t drink much. When I go somewhere to drink, it’s always a fancy place. I make sure they have gin on their menu. Cocktails contain fruits and simple sugars. I’m not one to sacrifice my calories for that. Instead, a refreshing gin is always on my list of drinks to have. Go for the light spirits and some red wine. At least it’s filled with some form of antioxidant!
  3. Don’t snack just because everyone else is. I’m always watching how much most people eat, and I don’t believe it! Snacking on things like chips after you’ve already had dinner, and drink several spirits, is not ideal. Neither is going to Mcdonalds afterwards. Do you feel hungry? If so, drink more water. You’re most likely dehydrated from all the drinking. Eliminate the after-effects of crappy junk food mixed with alcohol. You want to have a lovely weekend after all, and not having to nurse a sore head and being in the bathroom all day.
  4. You had fun and overdid it — so what? We’re all allowed to indulge once in a while. Don’t be so hard on yourself! This is the time of year you can loosen up a bit and get into the festive spirit. Just get back to your routine the next day.

Most importantly, have fun! We’ve had a hell of a year and let’s send it off with love.

--

--

Ange Dim

Multi-passionate creative who's immersed in health, wellness, exercise and loves creating healthy recipes. Low carb Recipes: https://bit.ly/4cHgO8r