Change your fat burning potential with weights

Ange Dim
3 min readMar 28, 2021

Weight loss is a very individual journey, and most of us genetically respond to one thing more than another. I spent most of my fat loss journey for many years, taking on far too much cardio than was required. I knew no better when I first started. The unfortunate effects of this were susceptible to many colds and infections. My immune system was being shot so much that it couldn’t fight anything off.

It wasn’t until I started competing in bodybuilding that I used weight training as my only means for building muscle and getting lean. It worked so well that I stuck with it from that moment forward. I, too, was skeptical when my trainer said that I was to do no cardio. I intended to lift weights and build muscle mass. That is the single most important catalyst for increasing your metabolism. Overall, you burn more calories when you lift weights overtime. I know it may be a bit hard to understand this because when you complete your cardio session, you’re burning far more calories during that time than you would lifting weights. What I urge you to do is get beyond this and remember that muscle is active tissue. It requires energy to repair and grow 24/7. For those who have more muscle mass, it will be an even more significant caloric expenditure.

My best advice is to complete your weight training as an essential part of your journey. Just…

--

--

Ange Dim

Multi-passionate creative who's immersed in health, wellness, exercise and loves creating healthy recipes. Low carb Recipes: https://bit.ly/4cHgO8r