Protein Intake Mistakes Every Person Training In The Gym Needs To Avoid!

Ange Dim
3 min readJan 3, 2021

--

We are a protein obsessed world — and that’s magnified by false research & hyper marketing

When it comes to protein after a workout, I believe that it has been blown out of proportion somewhat with excessive enthusiasm towards drinking or eat a massive amount after your workout (and about 5 times a day!). Most people do not consider a few other factors, including the kind of exercise they are doing, and how much you do need every day.

Although protein is an essential amino acid for all of us, especially as we age (since we lose quite a lot of muscle mass after 30), we don’t need to be as obsessed about it as mainstream media has taught us to.

A fascinating fact is that healthy adults need no more than 0.8–0.9g protein per KG to satisfy their protein needs. Now, you may be thinking; this is possibly just the average person who is sedentary. Perhaps, but we have been told to eat more because we want to:

• Put on muscle mass

• lose body fat and keep us feeling full for longer (in order not to experience the deprivation of dieting and eliminate cravings)

Unfortunately, eating more than our body needs means that excess protein will be converted to sugar, stored for later use (body fat).

Dr Gundry highlights (in all his books and podcasts) is that our bodies already contain a relative amount of protein within us that’s used and recycled continuously. That means we don’t have to stress about rushing off after the gym to consume protein.

Dr Gundry mentions that using Keto as your diet source will spare your muscle mass (if you make fat the prominent source of your calories). But, you can also use fasting as a way to mitigate any excess protein consumption.

Please don’t worry too much about not getting the most out of your workout because of the time you consume protein. Your body has enough protein to recycle and use when it’s needed. When you get home (or get to some food source), will surely be enough time for you. Why not choose salad greens instead of animal protein?

I was an “over-consumer” of protein for so many years. This became harmful to my gut health (which I’m paying the price for now). All the research is accurate, and for too long, we have been tricked into stressing out about eating enough protein. From my own experience, when I began fasting, I consumed much less protein than I ever have & train in a fasted state all the time. This form of lifestyle plan has allowed me to put on more muscle, gain more strength and become lean, without deprivation or having to eat protein or any other nutrient excessively.

Now I don’t have my research papers, and I’m not a scientist or doctor, but I like to experiment and try out theories. Fasting is the best lifestyle plan by far, and I have tried many diets — each leaving me bloated, fat, inconsistent with my training, weak and losing muscle mass. I can only comment on my own experience, which I have discovered on my own.

I want to finish off by saying that the best kind of diet contains as many vegetables as possible, minimal protein consumption, and eating more seafood than red meat sources. The choice is yours, but it’s always a great idea to be as informed as you possibly can be to live the best possible life.

Please view the video here, (go to the 30-minute mark which talks about athletes and building muscle) and if you have found this article useful, feel free to upvote it, and join me on my social channels.

--

--

Ange Dim

Multi-passionate creative who's immersed in health, wellness, exercise and loves creating healthy recipes. Low carb Recipes: https://bit.ly/4cHgO8r