Skipping your workout guilt-free

Ange Dim
3 min readMar 1, 2021

I believe that almost all of us hard-working, committed muscle builders take on that tinge of guilt every time it’s a rest day or we feel under the weather. It’s so easy to get caught up in that mind game with that little voice in your head that spreads all sorts of self-doubt seeds-

- Am I going to lose my muscle mass?

- Am I going to get lazy now I skipped a workout?

- Am I going to put on weight?

- Will I lose my strong will and momentum?

- Am I going to go mad after being away from the metal for just one day?

Have you ever thought of the above? If you are honest, you thought of one and could add several more to my list!

I call this kind of mindset “training appraisal,” and it affects so many of us. I have a great friend who admitted how tired she was from training. I turned to her and said, “thank god it’s a rest day for me today”, and she then realised a rest day wasn’t even part of her week! No wonder she was tired. After this conversation, she became sick and then took several days off the gym forcefully.

She would have bypassed all of this by allowing her body to rest, even for one day.

Those of us who train at an intense level may naturally feel the urge to rest after a…

--

--

Ange Dim

Multi-passionate creative who's immersed in health, wellness, exercise and loves creating healthy recipes. Low carb Recipes: https://bit.ly/4cHgO8r