What “diet” is really right for you (if any)?

Ange Dim
4 min readApr 17, 2021

I’ve always had the view of dieting being quite restrictive, and I get that sinking feeling in the pit of my stomach when I mention that word. It’s been a word I’ve used for a lifetime, and I believe it started before the transition to a teenager.

I didn’t have an upbringing that encourages eating healthy. Therefore, it was my responsibility to start forming habits based on my dietary needs, which would become most enjoyable long term. When you think about the so-called “diet” in that sense, it becomes something you can develop into a plan that’s not restrictive but nourishing and vital to leading the best possible life.

When you decide to follow a particular nutritional plan (as I don’t use the word diet anymore), there are many things I first consider. It depends on the following:

  1. Why I want to change my nutritional plan
  2. What short term goals I want to achieve
  3. What restrictions I need to put in place for my nutritional needs
  4. Allergies, food intolerances and any illnesses
  5. Long term, what do I hope to get out of this plan

I always make sure I sit down with my laptop and start typing out what I want. I make sure that it’s an unambiguous representation and that I’ve exhausted the wants and…

--

--

Ange Dim

Multi-passionate creative who's immersed in health, wellness, exercise and loves creating healthy recipes. Low carb Recipes: https://bit.ly/4cHgO8r